Application period open for 2019-20 AWSM Champions class

Post by:
Gina Mizell

The Association for Women in Sports Media is accepting applications for its 2019-20 class of AWSM Champions presented by the Ann Liguori Foundation. Women who are selected for the program will be paired with a sports media veteran in the appropriate field for one year and partake in regular sessions featuring industry veterans.

All professional female AWSM members employed in sports media are eligible for AWSM Champions. Student members are not eligible. To apply, please submit the following to by 11:59 p.m. PT on May 5:

* Contact information (full name, email, phone number)
* Resume
* Personal statement detailing why you are interested in being selected for the AWSM Champions program and what you are most looking for in a mentor (one page maximum)
* Head shot

Upon completion of the one-year program, mentees receive a complimentary one-year extension of their AWSM membership and assistance to attend AWSM’s 2020 conference. AWSM thanks the Ann Liguori Foundation, which continues as the inaugural benefactor of the program that was launched in 2017-18.

Members of the 2018-19 program are THV11 reporter Dorain Craft, editor Alicia DelGallo, Bleacher Report writer Mirin Fader, Arizona Daily Star investigative reporter Caitlin Schmidt, Raleigh, N.C.-based broadcaster Erin Summers and Boston Globe digital sports writer Nicole Yang.

Thanks to 2018-19 program mentors Nicole Auerbach (The Athletic), Jenni Carlson (The Oklahoman), Melissa Hoppert (New York Times), Jena Janovy (, Jill Montgomery (Four Leaf Productions) and Kate Scott (Pac-12 Networks).

Members of the 2019 AWSM Champions class will be announced later in May. If you are interested in mentoring a future AWSM Champion, please contact board members Gina Mizell and Iliana Limon Romero at

Connect with US