Susquehanna named 2023 Student Chapter of the Year

Post by:
AWSM Board
Student Chapter Spotlight

The Association for Women in Sports Media has named Susquehanna its 2023 student chapter of the year.

Susquehanna’s student chapter is led by president Abigail MacMillan, vice president Emma Sacco, treasurer Jenna Horning, social media chair Trystan Layton and secretary Luke Waldner. David Kaszuba, associate professor of communications, serves as the chapter’s advisor.

“Susquehanna has been an extremely active student chapter that has brought in a wide range of guest speakers during Zoom and in-person meetings; hosted a volleyball tournament, bake sale and T-shirt sale; and spotlights members on its social media channels,” said Iliana Limón Romero, AWSM president and Los Angeles Times assistant managing editor for sports. “Susquehanna has worked hard and earned chapter of the year honors.”

This is first time Susquehanna has been named student chapter of the year. MacMillan praised all chapter members for their commitment to AWSM and supporting women working in sports media.

“To see my chapter win this award means the world to me,” MacMillan said. “I am ecstatic and very proud of all the hard work that my executive board and I have been doing for this chapter. I am looking forward to the growth of this chapter.”

The AWSM board also salutes the great work accomplished by all of our other student chapters: Alabama, Arizona State, Clemson, Florida, Georgia, Ithaca, Maryland, Michigan State, Missouri, Northwestern, Oklahoma State, Penn State, Quinnipiac, Virginia, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

“It is incredibly inspiring to see all of our chapters working hard to line up great speakers and help support women in all aspects of sports media,” Limón Romero said. “The pandemic has made it a challenging time to be a college student, but we’re fortunate to have true leaders anchoring our chapters across the country. We know our future is bright because of their contributions to the organization.”

Previous AWSM chapter of the year honorees include Michigan State (2022 and 2016), Penn State (2018 and 2020), Quinnipiac (2019), Oklahoma State (2017 and 2013), Missouri (2015) and Michigan (2014). No chapter was selected in 2021 due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Connect with US